Rainbow City Public Library (48063 bytes)

Rainbow City Public Library
3702 Rainbow Drive Rainbow City, Alabama 35906 (256)442-8477
 

 Alabama Virtual Library
 Ancestry Library Edition
 Catalog
 Children's Programs
 Circulation Policies
 Computers
 Heritage Quest Online
 Home
 Homework Center
 Income Tax Information
 LearningExpressLibrary
 Library Board
 Library Hours
 Local Links
 Reference Sites

Circulation Policies

[Membership] [Circulation Limits] [Loan Periods & Fines]
[
Renewals] [Lost Materials]

Membership

Residents:  Any person four years of age or older who resides in Rainbow City or Etowah County will be issued a free library card.    Proof of residency must be shown at the time of application.  Verification of address may be shown through:

bulletA valid Alabama driver's license
bulletPersonalized checks, along with identification
bulletValid documents (rent receipts, utility bills, etc.) 

Children must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian, whose identification will substitute for the child's.  The first time a card is used, patrons are limited to two items.  When the first items are returned (no earlier than the following day), the patron may check out the normal limit.  Patrons are responsible for all use of their Library card.  The library should be notified as soon as possible if a card is lost or stolen.  A $2.00 replacement fee will be charged for lost cards.  Parents may pick up cards for their minor children, but all other cards must be picked up by the patron to whom the card is issued.

Non-residents:
 
bulletAny non-resident who owns real estate in the county will be issued a library card valid for one year. (Must show tax receipt showing current taxes are paid.)
bulletAny non-resident who teaches or attends a public or private school in the county will be issued a card valid for one year or for the length of the period the person will be teaching or attending school. (Must show a report card or student ID card for verification.  Post-secondary students must show a student ID card or tuition receipt.)
bulletNon-resident students will be issued cards for the quarter/semester for which they are enrolled only.
bulletOnly the person issued the borrower's card is eligible to use the card.  The card may not be used by other family members.
bulletAny non-resident who attends a child-care center in the county will be issued a library card valid for one year or the length of enrollment in the center. (Must show tuition receipt.)
bulletAny non-resident who is employed full-time in the county will be issued a library card valid for one year. (May show verification in the form of an insurance card, letter from the employer on company letterhead, etc.)
bulletThose persons who meet none of the eligibility requirements may be issued a card if they pay a $10.00 non-resident, non-refundable fee.   This fee must be paid on an annual basis.
Circulation Limits
bulletThere is a 10-book limit per card.
bulletNon-fiction books are limited to 2 books per subject for each family.  Further restrictions may be deemed necessary by library staff due to school assignments, etc.
bulletAudiovisuals are limited to 3 audiobooks, 3 music CDs and 3 videocassettes/DVDs per card (this is in addition to the 10 book limit).
bulletPatrons may also check out 5 magazines per card. (The most current issue of a magazine may NOT be checked out.)
bulletReference books may not circulate.
Loan Periods and Fines

No item should be due on any day that the Library is scheduled to be closed.  Fines are NOT charged for days when the Library is closed. Materials may be returned in the curbside return located at the back of the building. 

Material Type Circulation Period Fine
Per Day/
Per Item
Maximum Fine Per Item
Books 21 days* .10 2.00
Audiobooks 14 days 1.00 5.00
Music CDs 14 days 1.00 5.00
Videocassettes/DVDs 7 days 1.00 5.00
Magazines 7 days .10 2.00

*Titles that have multiple reserve requests and/or are high demand authors may be placed on 10 day circulation.
Borrowing privileges are suspended until overdue materials are returned and fines are paid.

Renewals

Items may be renewed twice provided they are not on reserve for another patron.  Items may be renewed by phone during regular hours.  Items may also be renewed online (PIN required).  If you do not have a PIN, please ask to set one up on your next library visit.

Lost Materials

Patrons will be charged the replacement cost of the item plus a $3.00 processing fee.   When a patron pays for a lost or overdue item, an overdue fine will not be charged.   Refunds may be granted on items found and returned within 6 months of their original due date.  The processing fee is non-refundable.